PSL 2020 5th Edition gets rescheduling & restructuring; PSL Final will be played in closed-door stadium on March 18th in Lahore

The HBL sponsored PSL 2020 5th Edition has been restructured under the growing concerns of the threat that is Coronavirus.

The PSL 2020 5th Edition is now limited to only a single match instead of the 33 matches and is going to end in 4 days instead of the originally decided upon date.

As a result of this rescheduling and restructuring, the PSL 2020 Final will now be played on March 18th but the Venu will remain unchanged which is Gaddafi Stadium located in Lahore.

Under these revisions, the playoff stage has been completely omitted from the original tournament schedule to have a qualifier which will be now played between the 2 of top teams in the Group Stages and the 2 from the Eliminator round. These will now serve as the 2 semifinals of the top 4 teams which will then lead to their winners to PSL 2020 Final.

All of these last 4 matches will take place in Lahore on 17th March. As for the remaining 4 matches of the group matches, they will still be played as per the schedule.

The matches that were to be held at the Karachi’s National Stadium are now going to be played behind a close-door stadium as it was announced by PCB (Pakistan Cricket Board). However, now PCB has also announced earlier this Friday that the same policy will now be applied for the matches played in Lahore. This means that matches in Lahore will also be played behind closed doors without ant of the enthusiastic cricket fans.

In the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic and permission from the PCB, 10 players from various teams of PSL have withdrawn themselves from PSL 2020’s remainder of a tournament.

The names of the players who have withdrawn from PSL 2020 are Rilee Rossouw, Alex Hales, Tom Banton, James Vince, Carlos Brathwaite, Lewis Gregory, Jason Roy, Tymal Mills, and Liam Livingstone. As for the players who will replace these withdrawn players, their names will be announced in due course.

Leave a Comment